Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Lying Dead by Aline Templeto #Book Review


Book Details:

Genre: Crime Fiction Published by: Witness Impulse, an imprint of HarperCollins Publication Date: 2/11/2014 Number of Pages: 513 ISBN: 9780062301758 Purchase Links:

Synopsis:

This moody and arresting thriller is perfect for fans of Tana French. On a beautiful, eerily quiet May morning, a girl is found brutally bludgeoned to death. When Detective Marjory Fleming arrives, the silence of the scene is broken only by the ringing of the girl's cell phone. The nearby community is small and close-knit, but the veneer of contented prosperity conceals nasty secrets and deep betrayals. When another corpse is discovered, Fleming quickly realizes she must watch her own back while she searches for the link between the murders. As she uncovers layer upon layer of intrigue and deceit, it becomes apparent that, while the dead can't tell lies, the living most certainly can.

Review:


Lying Dead is the third book in the D.I. Marjory Fleming series and the first in the series that I have read.A crime novel set in Scotland the book is very well written and a great story line that took many twists and turns.I was very surprised when the actual criminal was revealed.I'm excited to read the rest of the series.

Read an excerpt:

The wind had dropped with the sunrise. It was a beautiful May morning, with the soft, pearly light so typical of the south-west corner of Scotland, but it was cool still; vapour clung to the tops of the trees and there was a sweet, damp, earthy smell after a heavy dew. He got up to have a chilly shower – he must see if something couldn't be done about the hot-water supply – then dressed in his working jeans and checked shirt and went down the rickety staircase and across the living room to open the door. The wooden shack, his home since he was freed on licence six months ago, had walls weathered by time and the elements to a soft silvery grey. It stood in a clearing surrounded by rough grass studded with the stumps of felled trees, crumbling and mossy now. Beyond that, a tangle of undergrowth formed a natural enclosure: at this time of year the grass had feathery seed heads and thecreamy flowers of hawthorn and cow parsley gleamed against the lush dark green of nettles and docks. From a snarl of brambles, a robin was shouting a melodious challenge to all comers. Sitting down on the dilapidated bench outside the back door, he drank in the peace and freedom which remained a novelty still.

Author Bio:

Aline Templeton grew up in the fishing village of Anstruther, in the East Neuk of Fife. She has worked in education and broadcasting and was a Justice of the Peace for ten years. Married, with two grown-up children and three grandchildren, she now lives in a house with a view of Edinburgh Castle. When not writing, she enjoys cooking, choral singing, and traveling the back roads of France.

Catch Up With the Author:

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Participants:

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this book. Sounds like a good whodunit-style mystery!

    ReplyDelete